Thought I’d stick the happy ending in the title since my previous post was all about how I don’t believe in them.

Maybe it’s just people trying to put a positive spin on the situation, but I’m hearing more and more about how the Supreme Court striking down health care reform could be a good thing.  The idea being that the potential of health care reform going away will scare or upset voters enough to increase Obama’s re-election chances, and that it will give the Obama campaign more negative material to throw at the Republicans.  Apparently it might also be a good opportunity to re-inspire some of those progressives who have become disillusioned with Obama.

I have to say that I’m not feeling very hopeful about the health care ruling right now.  Perhaps I’m taking the unpleasant questioning of the Justices at face value.  Am I the one Eeyore in the crowd who’s not seeing the silver lining here?  Could a bad ruling by the Court indeed lead to a better outcome in the end?

Well, my hope is that the ruling does not turn out like I fear it will, and that health care reform remains in place.  This plan will help so many uninsured and underinsured Americans, and it has already changed things for the better in my own insurance industry.  No amount of strategizing about elections or imagined political gains could make losing it worthwhile to me.

