I’ve always had a tendency to make fun of the kids who play video games all day, but am now starting to wonder if my blogging activity is really that much more valuable.  Do I not essentially spend my blogger’s life in a fantasy world, conducting imaginary “raids” on enemy conservatives, part of a team of liberal bloggers who chat with each other, preaching to the choir with their witty quips?  Imagining that I’m engaged in some enormous battle, when in reality I’m involved in minor verbal altercations inside of a conservative-liberal duality which was most likely constructed and is being manipulated by somebody else.

Don’t get me wrong, I like having my blog.  And my favorite thing about having it is the fact that I’ve found a community, a group of peeps who are just as obsessive about politics as I am.  And I do know that the issues we write about can have life-or-death consequences, so I’m not dismissing the problems themselves as imaginary.  But isn’t my writing about them just that…words?  For all the effect it has on the real world, I might as well be living in my Mom’s basement and eating chips while fantasizing about being a powerful wizard.

My one hope is that putting an idea out there into the ether often enough actually does leave an imprint and influence how things are discussed and thought about.  So perhaps what we do will make a difference.  However, I’m also going to lose my attitude about the World of Warcraft kids.  I’m just as addicted to sitting at a computer as they are.

Also, there’s always Alan Scott.  As long as he’s around, I will never feel like I’m preaching to the choir.  Congrats on sticking it out so long with us liberals, Alan.  I’m making you a tag in my blog post….

