Oh dear.  I am starting to feel way too giddy and optimistic about the election.  I seriously need to calm myself down, or for someone to talk me back up onto the ledge, so to speak.  Yes, Mitt’s campaign is a mess right now.  Yeah, Barack is leading in the polls.  But so much could still happen between now and November.  It’s like I’m already excited about Santa, but Halloween could still be really horrible this year.

It’s difficult not to be optimistic when you look at what Mitt is doing.  He seems as uninspiring as John Kerry was back in 2004.  I would suggest a celebrity spokesperson, but we all know how the Clint Eastwood thing turned out.   But real problems could still arise.  My lovely home continent of Europe could do me the disfavor of imploding completely and dragging the world economy back down into the hole with it.  A war or a terrorist attack could happen.

So that dance of joy I’m doing in my bedroom, I need to STOP IT.  I need to SIT DOWN.  Then I need to remember to contribute to the Obama campaign again, and of course to vote.  Hopefully our optimism will be justified, but we can’t have the victory party yet.  (Although I’m sort of buying the party hats already.)

