So beyond the economy, beyond the contraceptives and bayonets, there is one question on my mind today:

Are we going to go to war again in the next four years?

I know Mitt has not explicitly indicated that he is planning to attack Iran, but with all of the back and forth on his views, how do we know to trust him?  Republicans do seem to enjoy the war thing, and there is a lot of pressure from Israel to help them out with this.

Unless we are directly attacked, I don’t want war with Iran, North Korea or anyone else.  I don’t want anyone I know to be in harm’s way for the sake of our grandstanding around the world.

I’m casting my very first Presidential election vote as a US citizen this year, and it is as much a vote against another war as it is a vote *for* anything.  I don’t actually believe Mitt will be that starkly different from Barack on the economy or social issues.  I even think Mitt is a smart enough politician–and one who wants to get re-elected–not to try to repeal all of healthcare reform.  But I don’t know what to expect from him on the foreign policy front. 

I guess all that is left now is to wait and see what happens.  But I cannot say it enough–your vote really does matter.  It could determine our future in the next few years, maybe even our very survival.  Go vote everybody!

