While I would never be silly enough to say that making money is evil or that it makes one a sellout, the past week has reminded me once again that all of the most meaningful stuff I do in life I either do for free or while giving my money away.  Writing this blog, taking my friend out to dinner, hiking.  My work exists as financial structure to support the things I love to do.

This does make me wonder about what we decide to focus on.  Is it a positive thing that we focus our lives on making an income, since that effort supports all the good we can then do?  Or is it sad that most people I know, including me, will spend the vast majority of their time on the less meaningful?  I don’t have a real answer for this question, and will choose to believe in the happier version of the story for now.

