When I first started to write this post, I thought–I’d like to say how I feel about us going to war, but the NSA might be reading this.

But then I realized that the reality is far sadder than that.  The conspiracy theories aren’t true.  Sure, the NSA might be scanning for some keywords, but there isn’t anybody out there attentively reading what we have to say.  They aren’t hovering over our houses in black helicopters.  I don’t believe they’re using new technologies to read our minds, or electromagnetic frequencies to brainwash us.  I really don’t think that my opposition to the war in Syria will cause anyone to send a swarm of tiny robots to invade my body (although that might be kinda cool).

They have a far better strategy than that–they ignore us.  After all, we have places like this to vent, our cafes and bars where we can bitch over our drinks before we go back to our obedient daily lives.  Many Americans, both liberal and conservative, are opposed to a military intervention in Syria, but they don’t really care what we think.  The decision about whether we go over there–yea or nay–will be made by that small group of people debating it, without our influence.

Sometimes I wish the NSA *was* reading this.

