Ohhhhkay…so as everyone knows by now, the Obamacare website isn’t working so well.  And sadly, neither is the local insurance exchange website for my state, even though I live in one of those states which were eager to participate in Obamacare, and did not have to be dragged kicking and screaming into it.

I’ve listened to Jon Stewart make fun of the problems.  I’ve heard President Obama quipping about how frustrated he is, in his usual suave way.  Conservatives have been mocking the situation, and rightly so.  It’s an embarrassing mess.  Although their solution would be to scrap the whole thing and go back to the old, badly functioning health care system, so I don’t know how seriously I can take their point of view. 

Thing is, this is no humorous matter to me.  I’m not laughing, I’m a little anxious.  As I’ve written before, I have family members who are uninsured and need access to the exchange.  I agree with President Obama–I think the Obamacare product itself is good.  And I love the hippie trippy psychedelic commercials Oregon is running for its CareOregon site.  But what’s the point of cool advertisements if you’re not able to purchase the goods?  As always, my home state is better at creative expression than it is at being practical 🙂

My family is going to give it a couple more weeks, as we hope that all the “glitches” will get worked out with time.  Worst case scenario, we’ll just fill out one of the paper applications.  We need this and are determined to get it.  But there could be an easier way.

So c’mon, President Obama.  We want to buy the product you’re selling.  Let us be your customers!

