The people of New York have had a mixed bag response to Mayor Michael Bloomberg’s tenure now that he’s transitioned back into civilian life.  On the one hand, a recent Quinnipiac poll shows that 64% of New Yorkers think Mayor Bloomberg was a success.  However, 57% of the city’s residents also think Bloomberg’s ban on large sodas should not be continued.

This confirms something we already know about ourselves as Americans.  You can be a friend of the rich like Bloomberg or try to redistribute wealth like de Blasio, but for the love of God, let us be fat.  We’re already being used and abused like we’re in a dysfunctional marriage, so at least let us have our super sized soft drinks.  I’m no exception to this.  I’m far from obese, but my right to consume sweets and chips is the reward I get for sacrificing most of my life to my corporate job.  So, while I’ve handed almost everything else over to those in power–woe to the person who dares touch my snacks.  This is about freedom, after all!  Well, my freedom to overeat, anyway.

