Well, I could use this space to whine and cry about the midterm election results, or I could post something a little more…entertaining. Especially when it ties into my line of work.

Part of my job consists of investigating accidents and trying to find out how injuries happened (to see if there could be any liability involved). This means that I spend my day looking at countless ways in which people hurt themselves. Everything from skateboarding and snowboarding accidents…to those who injure themselves while attempting to dance or do yoga…those who fall into a hole in their backyard…or get bitten by a cat or spider, or the bat they find lying on their bedroom floor. Needless to say, my work makes me a bit paranoid about doing…anything, really.

And that’s how I can confirm that what Meetville.com is reporting is true–quite a few people hurt themselves while having sex.

Meetville–which is a dating site, but not an ISIS-sponsored one!–has published stats showing that one third of adults are injured every year while doing the wild thing, with an even kinkier 5% having to call in sick to work the next day. And 4 out of 10 have broken furniture or other household items in the process of making love. See? It’s much safer when you’re not getting any. I’m just sayin’.

They even provide a handy chart of the most dangerous places to have sex. They say it’s 10 places, but I only see 9. Perhaps they were too busy getting it on to count:

10dangerousspots

Ack! The sofa and the bedroom are so dangerous! Did I mention you can get ebola there, too?

I should add that in my workplace, when we receive information about *those* kinds of injuries, our clients don’t give us any details, and we don’t ask. I’ve seen a couple of hospital emergency room claims with a diagnosis of “foreign object in anus,” and I…I really don’t want to know. I figure that anyone in that situation would be too embarrassed to sue anybody else, anyway.

So there it is, a little silliness to brighten the mood for this dreary week. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll retire to my dangerous bed and continue smarting from the spanking we got from the Republicans this Tuesday…ouch!

